44. Band of Horses: Cease to Begin

From 2007, here’s Cease to Begin, the second album from Band of Horses.

I admit it. When I got to a certain age, I stopped buying a lot of music. I become a bit less tolerant of new music, and things that maybe I’d give some space to in the past would have to really knock my socks off for me to buy it, or even listen to it the whole way through. A lot of music really seemed to sound disposable. Why should I make the effort to listen to, and why should I spend the money on something that it seemed like the band itself didn’t have any real interest in either. A friend told me that the problem was me. Music had become all about being disposable, and I needed to catch up with the times. That’s not the first time someone said that to me. It’s too bad. There were so many good bands.

Well, along came Band of Horses. Their first album Everything all the Time was great, but I don’t have a CD of it, so you don’t get to read me talking about it.

I picked up this Cease to Begin CD somewhere along the way a few years ago. Right from the start, “Is There a Ghost” one sets the right tone. If you don’t know anything about the these guys, they live in the same neighborhood as Built To Spill, Fleet Foxes, My Morning Jacket, and Neil Young. Interestingly enough, I don’t really like Neil Young, but the bands that like them are terrific.

This CD is really something. If you can find your way to it, grab a copy. It’s really something. I need to listen to more of their stuff, too.

 

Leave a Reply

