30. Ash: 1977

Here we are with 1996’s 1977. Yeah, I’m a funny guy.

Ash1977cover.jpg
By Source, Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=197106

Oh, where to start? Right from the beginning of 1977, with the sound of TIE Fighters to start the album, this album is something. There’s really no two ways about how great the punk-pop on this album is. It’s always impressed me how a couple of teenagers could manage to put this kind of stuff together, and do it for their first album no less. The songs are really terrific from top to bottom, but “Girl From Mars,” “Kung Fu,” and “Lose Control” stand out above the rest.

For my money, there aren’t a lot of styles of music that really get me going and tapping my feet the way these guys do. Lots of times I think the punk isn’t poppy enough, or the pop isn’t punky enough. Honestly, it’d be a bit of a stretch to call this punk, just like, between you and me, I think calling a lot of what the Jam (one of my all-time favorite bands) did punk. It’s noisy and it’s loud, but in some ways the Beatlesey sound is bigger than the punk noise. That’s okay. I don’t care about these sorts of labels. Actually, you know… I never really thought about it, but another band right in this same neighborhood is Foutains of Wayne, who, for a time, I thought were the best band in America.

The main point is this is, without question, one of the best albums of its time, and it still has me tapping my feet nearly 20 years later. Definitely keep this one. We happen to have two copies, so one’ll stay in the car.

 

Leave a Reply

