29. Ash: Trailer

Here’s how little I know. I always thought Trailer, released in the US in 1995, was their second record. Wrongo. It was their first.

Ash-Trailer.jpg
By Source, Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=274126

Maybe that’s because got 1977, which I’ll get to tomorrow, probably, first and listened to it a lot before I got Trailer. Anyhow. I like these guys all in all. Trailer is a compilation of Ash’s first couple of singles, which a couple of other tracks, too. Are those the B-sides? Maybe. The best of the bunch is the truly terrific “Jack Names the Planets,” which is just a great piece of Beatlesey punk-pop. Quick and straight to the point.

Whether or not you like them, or, I suppose, the Beatles, for that matter, these guys had a real knack for that sound.

Not much else on this album that I can think of really jumped out at me, but it was fun to listen to again. I think this one falls into the group of albums that I don’t know how soon I’ll listen to again, but I also don’t know that I want to get rid of. It’s good, though, yeah. Now that I know it’s their early stuff, it makes more sense because I’ve always felt the songs were less mature, than their later stuff.

Leave a Reply

