24. Fiona Apple: Tidal

This one’s from some time… come on, it’s Friday… huh. Tidal is from 1996; the first full-length from Fiona Apple.

FionaAppleTidal.png
By Source (WP:NFCC#4), Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=44600797

Last night, when I realized I’d be listening to this one, I had a moment of panic. I didn’t think there’d be any way I’d be interested in it at all. It’s been nearly 20 years since “Shadowboxer,” along with however many others, were hits. I remember very clearly not liking what I heard then. But, hits they were, and while I don’t always like what’s going on in music, I figure there’s got to be something to it if there’s all those hits. Optimistic: yes; stupid, too: probably.

My friend Mike was kind enough to tell me not to worry; that this would be okay. She’s got kind of a deep, Amy Winehouse-before-Amy Winehouse sort of voice, and it’ll all be fine. He was right. I didn’t love it, no, but it was quite a bit better than I expected. She can certainly sing, and while the songs really for me, I don’t regret ever meeting my wife and allowing her to bring this into my life. No, not at all. It wasn’t my thing, but that’s okay. It wasn’t bad either.

Leave a Reply

