20. Laurie Anderson: Big Science

From 1982, here’s Big Science from Laurie Anderson.

LaurieAnderson BigScience.JPG
By Source, Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=2581923

I spent a bunch of time trying to figure out where this CD came from. My wife has another one of Laurie Anderson’s CDs, Strange Angels, which I’ll write about soon, but has no memory of this one, and she’s usually pretty good about this kind of thing. The best I can figure is it was in among a big pile of CDs that was left in a desk drawer at a job I had ages ago. When I asked my boss what to do with them, he said I should keep them. This is how I got my hands on a beat-up copy of one of Thelonious Monk’s CDs. I can’t say for sure, but that’s the best I can do because I can’t ever see myself buying this one.

I tried, I really did, but just couldn’t get into this album at all. I know when I’ve been outmatched. Maybe it’s not really the point. I always think of Laurie Anderson as a performance artist, so the idea of sitting around the living room a quiet night after a tiring day doesn’t really seem like the point. Still, I gave it a try. Do you ever go to modern art museums, and feel like you don’t get it. Like the art is great, but it’s just not meant for you? That’s how this CD made me feel.

 

Leave a Reply

