8. Air: Moon Safari

In 1998, it was hard to go into any cool restaurant in any cool city anywhere without hearing something from Air’s Moon Safari. It was everywhere, and the last place I wanted it to not be was my apartment. I loved it then, like most people I knew, but before too long, it just sort of fell off the back of the pile.

Moonsafari.air.albumcover.jpg
By Source, Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=1473718

At some point, I moved away from this style of music. There were some bands I liked, but I was never really that deeply interested electronic music (just wait until I get to Depeche Mode, if I have any), and this one sat mute for a while. Going back to it now, I tapped my feet a lot, and loved having it on in the background as I do other things, reading things, writing things. It’s really good background music, just as it was almost 20 years ago. Albums like these definitely have their place. I’m a fan of having music on just to give texture to a room, and this one does a great job with that. There isn’t a bad song on this album, not even close, so you can’t go wrong, though it sounds more dated than I figured it would.

Leave a Reply

