6. Ryan Adams & The Cardinals: Cold Roses

This one brings up the music alphabetization conundrum that the ancients had to face when they stared up at the dark skies, creating constellations. Where do bands named like this one go? Under A for Adams? C for Cardinals? What about Springsteen? Lewis? Echo? Well, here it is in my collection under A, so, off we go. Far be it for me to rock the boat.

Cold roses.jpg
Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=2643147

From 2005, Cold Roses is the sixth post-Whiskeytown album by Ryan Adams. I have this strange video in my mind of him playing in front of a backing band filled out by Ozzie Smith, Ken Oberkfell, and Willie McGee, kind of like the “Super Bowl Shuffle.” Interestingly, enough, I have no memory at all of buying this, or ever even listening to it before today. Like I said, yesterday, I like Ryan Adams, so I must have had no reason to think this one would be any different. Though, it’s strange I somehow missed four albums in the middle.

I’m usually a little suspicious of double albums. It’s sometimes hard to imagine someone being prolific enough to put out 10 solid songs for an album, let alone 20. Ryan Adams is nothing if not prolific, though. There’s a lot of good stuff on this record, but like most double albums, he could probably have lost half of it and put out a really terrific single album. Most of these are the usual twangy, harmonica-ey, acoustic-ey, singer-songwritery stuff you’d expect, and there’s nothing wrong with that. The one that stood out most of all to me is “Dance All Night,” which is toward the end of the second CD. I’m not sure I want to sit through it all to figure out which songs are the real great ones, but I think I’ll hang onto it. It’s a good one to give a listen to from time to time.

Leave a Reply

