5. Ryan Adams: Heartbreaker

Heartbreaker is the first solo album by former Whiskeytown front man Ryan Adams. It showed up on shelves late in 2000, right when I was buying every CD and going to every concert I could. I loved Whiskeytown’s Stranger’s Almanac, as many people did, so I was really excited to hear this.

RyanAdamsHeartbreaker.jpg
Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=945708

When I first got it, maybe I wasn’t in a good mood, or maybe it was something else, but I didn’t like it, so it sat on the shelf for a while until I got around to going back to it. In the years since, I’ve listened to it a bunch, but for whatever reason it never really made it into the top tier of my collection. It’s really great to take the time to go back to it today. There’s a ton to like on Heartbreaker. Some songs are better than others (and some songs are better than other songs’ mothers), and ones like “Come Pick Me Up” and “Shakedown on 9th Street” are top-notch. As an aside, I always want this one to be called “Come Pick Me Up” because of the song, but it’s not; we’ll get to Superchunk sooner or later.

Nearly everything on this one’s worth a listen, and a relisten. It was a great, if mildly nostalgic, way to spend some time this afternoon. But, then, what’s the point of music if not some nostalgia?

Leave a Reply

