3. 10,000 Maniacs: Our Time in Eden

I wonder if there’s anything to the first few CDs here all being from the same year. I’m sure there is, but this cold, this sore throat, is bothering me too much to try to figure it out. So, here we are again, in 1993. Our Time in Eden is the last 10,000 Maniacs album with Natalie Merchant on lead pipes, and hers are pretty great. I was never really a big fan of this band, though I didn’t dislike them, but, man, Natalie Merchant could sing.

OurTimeInEden.jpeg
By Source, Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=2678515

It’s is another CD brought along by the wife, but I think I might have had it as some time, too. There are only a couple of hits on this one, including “Candy Everybody Wants,” which I wrote about a couple of hours ago, and the terrific “These Are Days,” but nearly every song, in a different time and place, could have been a single. I don’t remember loving this CD years ago, but it’s really aged well, and it’s worth hanging on to.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

